Abahani, Mohammedan lose in opening matches of Premier Cricket

Dhaka Abahani Limited conceded a 29-run defeat against lowly Brothers Union Club at the Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in the city while Mohammedan SC Ltd suffered a five-wicket defeat against new sensation Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club at Khan Saheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah.

In the day’s other match, Gazi Tank Cricketers made a good start in the league beating Prime Doleshwar SC by five wickets at the BKSP in Savar.

Sent to bat first at the SBNS, Brothers Union Club scored a moderate 224 for 7 in quota 50 overs, featuring unbeaten 57 runs in the eighth wicket stand.

Lower order Tapash Ghosh contributed the team highest 47 not out off 64 balls with three fours and a six while tail-ender Abdur Razzak scored not out 38 off 27 balls with five fours and a six.

National opener Nazimuddin added another useful 61-ball 42 runs with the help of six fours and a six. Besides, opener Nafees Iqbal (22), Aftab Ahmed (22), Dhiman Ghosh (22) and spinner Tushar Imran (15) were the other major contributors for Brothers Union. Spinner Saqlain Sajib and all rounder Mohammadullah Riyad grabbed two wickets each for 21 and 35 runs respectively.

In reply, Abahani Limited were all out for 195 in 46.2 overs with Indian middle order batsman Mithun Manhas making the match highest 50 runs off 39 balls that featured four fours and three sixes.

Besides, Farhad Hossain (29), Narendra Singh (27), Elias Sunny (not out 26),Anamul Haque (25) and Fazle Rabbi (15) were the other notable scorers for Abahani.

Tushar Imran, Tapash Ghosh, Abdur Razzak and Sohail Ahmed took two wickets apiece for 21, 25, 26, 35 runs respectively.

In Fatullah. Coin-favoured Dhaka Mohammedan opened their innings first and were all out for 201 in 49.4 overs with Pakistani Umar Amin contributing the team highest 59 runs off 79 balls that included four fours and a six.

Rajin Saleh (32), lower order Delwar Hossain (not out 26,) Hamidul Islam (24) and Imtiaz Hossain (20) were the other notable scorers for Dhaka Mohammedan.

National pacer Dollar Mahmud claimed three wickets for 56 runs while Suhrawardi Shuvo took two wickets for 36 runs.

Chasing a target of 202 runs, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Clubscored 204 runs for the loss of five wickets in 47.2 overs, riding on 131 runs in the opening partnership,.

Indian opner Dipak Joon hammered 80 runs off 96 balls with eight fours and two sixes while local opener Shamsur Rahman added useful 60 runs off 100 balls with five fours and a six.

Besides, Sri Lankan Jehan Mubarak (not out 20), national skipper Mushfiqur Rahim (17) and Mahmudul Hasan (not out 16) were the other major contributors for Sheikh Jamal DC.

Hammad Azam and Amitav Nayan took two wickets each for 32 and 42 runs respectively,

Sent to bat first at the BKSP ground 2, Prime Doleshwar SC scored a moderate 232 runs for 9 wickets in 50 overs.

Middle order batsman Nadif Chowdhury hammered a polished 72 runs off 104 balls with five fours and a six while Pakistani Kamran Akmal scored 71-ball 52 runs with eight boundaries.

Pakistani pacer Mohammad Sami caused the major damage to the Prime Doleshwar innings capturing four wickets for 31 runs while Nasir Hossain, Sanjamul Islam and Alauddin Babu took one wicket apiece for 42, 50 and 54 runs respectively.

In reply, Gazi Tank Cricketers reached their target of 233 runs for the loss of five wickets in 48.3 overs with opener Asif Ahmed contributing 74 runs off 82 balls that featured eleven fours,

Pakistani Ayub Dogar added 56 runs off 68 balls with seven four, national cricketer Nasir Hssain scored 46 runs off 73 balls with one four and a six while all rounder Alok Kapali made not out 32 off 35 balls,

National pacer Nazmul Hossain picked up two wickets for 38 runs while Yasin Arafat, Mahbubul Alam and Pakistani Qaiser Abbas took one wicket each for 25, 32 and 37 runs respectively.

Friday’s matches: Old DOHS SC vs Surjo Tarun Club (at BKSP in Savar), Biman Bangladesh Airlines vs Victoria SC (Khan Saheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah), and Cricket Coaching Club vs Kalabagan KC
(Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium).

Twelve clubs are taking part in the league. They are Abahani Limited, Mohammedan SC, Gazi Tank Cricketers, Old DOHS SC, Biman Bangladesh Airlines, Cricket Coaching School, Kalabagan KC, Victoria SC, Surjo Tarun Club, Prime Doleshwar SC, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club and Brothers Union Club.

Readers Comments